The institutional members of the Phoenix consortium appear below. You can meet the researchers here.


Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (TU/e)

TU/e is a leading international university worldwide, specializing in engineering science & technology, contributing to progress in technical sciences through excellent teaching and research, the development of technological innovations and as a result to the growth of welfare and well-being. TU/e has around 3000 employees, 240 professors, 8100 students, 1160 PhD students, 25,000 graduate engineers, 1200 graduate technological designers and 2300 PhDs. TU/e acted as coordinator for the Phoenix project.



Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 11.03.48 AMKatholieke Universiteit Leuven  (KU Leuven)

KU Leuven is a full university with 16 faculties organized in 3 groups: Humanities and Social Sciences; Science, Technology & Engineering; and Biomedical Sciences. It is Belgium’s oldest and largest university with more than 41.000 students (2012-2013), 6700 researchers and an annual research budget of 365 Meuro (2011‐2012). With 350 FP7 contracts (2/7/12), incl. 43 ERC grants, KU Leuven is ranked the 5th resp. 8th university in Europe. Circuits and MEMS research at the KU Leuven is concentrated in the research unit MICAS in the Department of Electrical Engineering – ESAT at the Faculty of Engineering Sciences.



Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 11.05.58 AM

Rheinisch-Westfaelische Technische Hochschule Aachen (RWTH Aachen) RWTH Aachen University is one of Germany’s leading universities of technology founded in 1870. It offers degrees in the different engineering areas, natural sciences, and medicine as well as in humanities, business and economics. The Institute of Communications Technologies and Embedded Systems (ICE) is part of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at RWTH Aachen.  The institute is structured into three tightly connected research groups (algorithms, architectures, and tools), thus, covering all major aspects of system design.



Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 11.07.35 AM

Antea Nederland BV (Antea) (joined 4/2017)

Antea Group is one of the largest and most diversified independent consulting and contracting companies, offering a wide range of services in urban and rural development in the Netherlands and abroad. Antea Group is active in the fields of environment, infrastructure, urban planning and water. By combining strategic thinking and multidisciplinary perspectives with technical expertise and pragmatic action, they do more than effectively solve client challenges; they deliver sustainable results for a better world. Joined the Phoenix Project in April 2017.



rugcfUniversity of Groningen – Campus Fryslân (RUG/CF) (joined 4/2017)

RUG/CF is a unique Faculty dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of scientific questions connected with social and economic themes relevant to the province. The core philosophy of the Faculty involves connecting regional themes with interdisciplinary global issues. In practice, the Faculty will teach students to apply theoretical knowledge of societal issues playing out at a global level to real-world regional cases.



logoVrije Universiteit Amsterdam – Comptational Intelligence Group (VU) (joined 11/2017)

Ever since it was founded in 1880, VU Amsterdam has beenknown for its distinctive approach to knowledge. VU is an open organization, strongly linked to people and society. What matters is not just the acquisition of a greater depth of knowledge, but also a wider one. We ask and expect our students, researchers, PhD candidates and employees to look further – to look further than their own interests and their own field, and further than what is familiar and further than the here and now.



200px-UniversitaDiTrentoUniversity of Trento (UNITN) (joined 2/2018)

UNITN is ranked among the best Italian Universities. This is due to the University’s ability to finance itself, its success in scientific research, its ability to look towards Europe and the world, and to the satisfaction of the students. The Department of Information Engineering and Computer Science (DISI) was established in January 2002. Since then, it has grown to more than 40 faculty members and is hosted 200 full-time Ph.D. students and 100 research staff, soon becoming recognized as the top computer science department in Italy. Over time, DISI has consolidated as an international and multi-cultural working environment, hosting a EU Marie Curie Chair in Networking and Security, a EU Erasmus Mundus Masters in Informatics (jointly with the Universities of RWTH Aachen and Edinburgh) and holding a formalized long-term collaboration with Indian Universities and Research Centers.



e06622cf-1d2e-4162-bb73-f110e72a795dINnovation Center for Advanced Sensors and Sensor Systems (INCAS3) (left 12/2016)

INCAS3 was a private, non-profit research institute that performs fundamental and applied research in the fields of sensing and monitoring. It went bankrupt in 2016.